Islington goes to the polls

PUBLISHED: 11:00 03 May 2012 | UPDATED: 12:23 04 May 2012

Labour have won the Holloway by-election

Labour have won the Holloway by-election


Residents have gone to the polls today to vote for the next Mayor of London and the borough’s London Assembly representative.

They will decide who will take the North East London seat, which also takes in the boroughs of Hackney and Waltham Forest.

Candidates battling it out for votes are Jennette Arnold of Labour, Lib Dem Farooq Qureshi, Conservative Naomi Abigail Newstead, Paul Kevin Wiffen of Fresh Choice for London as well as Independent candidate Ijaz Hayat.

People in the Holloway ward will also be having their say on who they want to represent the area on Islington Council in a by-election sparked by the departure of Cllr Lucy Rigby, who resigned to pursue a parliamentary seat.

London Elects – the body that runs the elections – has called on voters to ensure they have their say.

John Bennett, Greater London returning officer, said: “It only takes a few minutes to vote on the three ballot papers for the Mayor of London, Constituency London Assembly Members and London-wide Assembly Members.

“This is your chance to say how you would like your London for the next four years.”

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Islington Gazette. Click the link in the orange box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Islington Gazette