Arsenal’s Mead named England Women’s young player of year

Arsenal Women's Beth Mead during a training session with England at St George's Park (pic Nigel Fren

Arsenal Women's Beth Mead during a training session with England at St George's Park (pic Nigel French/PA) - Credit: PA Wire/PA Images

Arsenal’s Beth Mead and former Gunner Ellen White were named England Women’s Young Player and Player of the Year at The FA Women’s Football Awards in London.

White beat competition from Mille Bright, Fran Kirby, Nikita Parris and Demi Stokes in the public ballot, having earned her 74th cap for the Lionesses last month and earlier this year her razor-sharp finishing secured a 2-2 draw against Germany in the SheBelieves Cup.

Meanwhile, Mead collected the young player award having represented England from U15s through to the senior team and flourished this season to earn her first full England cap against Wales in April.

Phil Neville, England Women’s manager, said: “We have a hugely talented group of players across all England age groups. Ellen has played a crucial role in the senior team’s recent success, including our strong World Cup qualifying campaign, and Beth has had a breakthrough season making her full debut earlier this year. Huge congratulations to them both.”

The winners were announced at the 20th annual FA Women’s Football Awards with the ceremony celebrating the very best of women’s football including grassroots, domestic and international football.

You may also want to watch:

Other awards went to:

The Telegraph FA WSL 1 Goal of the Year - Georgia Stanway, Manchester City Women

Most Read

FA WSL 1 Save of the Season - Sophie Baggaley, Bristol City Ladies

FA WSL 1 Players’ Player of the Year - Jill Scott & Ann Katrin Berger, Manchester City Women & Birmingham City Ladies

FA WSL 2 Players’ Player of the Year - Zoe Ness, Durham Women

FA WPL Players’ Player of the Year - Leigh Dugmore, Leicester City Women

FA WPL Division 1 Players’ Player of the Year - Nicola O’Connell, Larkhall Athletic Ladies

FA WSL Head Coach of the Year - Emma Hayes, Chelsea Women

FA WPL Manager of the Year - Riteesh Mishra, Charlton Athletic Women

FA WSL Club of the Year - Chelsea Women

FA WPL Club of the Year - Derby County Ladies

FA WSL 1 Top Goal Scorer - Ellen White, Birmingham City

FA WSL 2 Top Goal Scorer - Jessica Sigsworth, Doncaster Rovers Belles

FA WPL Northern Division Top Goal Scorer - Rosie Axten, Leicester City Women

FA WPL Southern Division Top Goal Scorer - Kit Graham, Charlton Athletic Women

FA WPL Division 1 North Top Goal Scorer - Jodie Redgrave & Yasmine Swarbrick, Brighouse Town Ladies & Morecambe Ladies

FA WPL Division 1 Midlands Top Goal Scorer - Jordan Atkin, Burton Albion Ladies

FA WPL Division 1 South East Top Goal Scorer - Allesandra Barreca, Actonians Lades

FA WPL Division 1 South West Top Goal Scorer - Natasha Knapman, Plymouth Argyle Ladies

Best Participation Initiative - Future Fives, Bristol

Unsung Hero - Jackie Batten-Lincoln

Special Award - Tony Leighton & Sue Lopez

Baroness Sue Campbell, head of women’s football at The FA, said: “The FA Women’s Football Awards has given us all an opportunity to look back and celebrate everything that has been achieved in women’s football in the last season, from grassroots to the elite level.

“It has been a season spearheaded by major developments in key areas of The Gameplan for Growth and I’m proud of all that’s been achieved.

“The Lionesses climbed to number two in the world rankings, a record breaking attendance at The SSE Women’s FA Cup Final, over 900 SSE Wildcats Centres now open and the restructure of the women’s domestic game.

“Thanks to all the clubs, players and facilitators who have made this progress possible and we now look ahead to another great season.”

For more information and to see all the award winners visit

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter