Mossbourne Academy boy wins all six races in Islington Schools Running League

Left to right: individual winners Luca Minale, Nile McKenzie and Felix Waters

Left to right: individual winners Luca Minale, Nile McKenzie and Felix Waters - Credit: Archant

Mossbourne Academy’s Luca Minale completed a clean sweep for the second successive season as the Islington Schools Running League reached its climax at Finsbury Park.

The 12-year-old, who won all six races in the boys’ Years 7-8 competition last season, repeated that feat by charging to victory in the final race of the 2014-15 series with a time of six minutes 11 seconds.

Minale was followed by Marwan Said of Highbury Grove School (6:41) – who has been runner-up in each of the six races and amassed enough points to lead his school to their first team victory overall, edging out St Aloysius’ College.

But there was further individual success for Mossbourne Academy in the boys’ Years 9-10 section, where Nile McKenzie also won each of the races he contested.

Although McKenzie missed one race, he finished the series on a high by clocking 6:10 at Finsbury Park, enough to hold off the challenge of Girvane Bila (St Aloysius).

You may also want to watch:

Bila (6:41) took second place ahead of team-mate Jude Adjede (6:56) and it was St Aloysius whose consistency throughout enabled them to retain the team title.

In the girls’ Years 7-8 competition, runaway leader Felix Waters of Stoke Newington Schools was pushed all the way by Lucy North (Clapton Girls Academy) before finally clinching her fifth win of the series.

Most Read

North – who had never previously finished higher than fourth – crossed the line in 6:47, the same time as her rival, but was adjudged to have been edged out by a fraction and had to settle for second place.

However, Clapton Girls Academy runners filled each of the next five spots as well, taking their sixth straight victory and the team title ahead of EGA School.

Last year’s girls’ years 9-10 individual champion, Lily McKay, failed in her brave attempt to shrug off an illness and retain the title as she started the race – only to withdraw a minute later.

The honours eventually went to Ezelina Owens (7:12) of Clapton Girls Academy, who pushed team-mate Molly Bennett (7:16) into second place – but it was a non-runner, Meg Naylor of Stoke Newington School, who took her first title thanks to an earlier win and three runners-up spots.

Clapton Girls Academy won all six races in the series to take the team championship ahead of last year’s winners, Highbury Fields.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter